There are plenty of motorcycle enthusiasts in Colorado, and many that visit the state regularly. However, before you hit the road on a motorcycle in this state, you need to know all of the rules and regulations in order to remain legal on the roadway. Most veteran motorcyclists know the Colorado laws regarding the safe operation of these vehicles. However, regardless of whether or not you or a seasoned motorcyclist or a newbie, there may be some motorcycle laws in Colorado you are unaware of. Here, we want to cover a few of the laws that may have either slipped your mind or that you may not have been aware of in the first place.
- It is illegal to lane split in Colorado. There are some websites out there that say that lane splitting is legal in Colorado. However, this is not true. Lane splitting is illegal in Colorado. We can look directly at the state Department of Transportation website to see that this is the truth. However, it is legal for motorcycles to share lanes (ride two-abreast).
- Turn signals are not required on motorcycles in Colorado. Most states around the country require that motorcycles have turn signals installed on the vehicles. However, turn signals are not required on motorcycles in Colorado. If there are no turn signals installed on a motorcycle, motorcyclists will be responsible for using appropriate hand signals to indicate which direction they are turning.
- Anybody under the age of 18 must wear a helmet. Colorado does not have a universal helmet law in place for motorcyclists. However, any person under the age of 18 on a motorcycle must have a DOT-approved helmet on their head. This includes the person operating the motorcycle and any riders who may be under the age of 18.
- All riders have to wear some sort of eye protection. Colorado law dictates that every driver and passenger on a motorcycle wear some sort of eye protection at all times. This could include a visor on a helmet, and this could also include goggles or eyeglasses that have plastic or safety glass. There are no exceptions to this law. All motorcyclists, regardless of their age, must have eye protection.
- Children are allowed ride on motorcycles. Children are allowed to ride as passengers on a motorcycle. There are no age requirements regarding who is allowed to ride as a passenger. If a motorcyclist has a passenger, the passenger must have a proper seat and footrests for them on the back of the bike. This ensures that they are able to hold on tight and brace themselves when riding.
- Colorado has noise limits for motorcyclists. Colorado does have noise requirements regarding motorcycles. Any motorcycle manufactured after July 1, 1971, and before January 1, 1973, is not allowed to exceed a noise level of 88 dBA at a length of 50 feet away from the bike. Any motorcycle manufactured after January 1, 1973, cannot exceed 86 dBA at a length of 50 feet away from the bike.
- There are two ways to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your license. The usual way for a person to obtain a motorcycle license in Colorado is for them to pass a written motorcycle knowledge test, purchase the motorcycle instruction permit, schedule and pass the motorcycle skills test, and purchase a new driver’s license that adds the motorcycle endorsement. However, another way to obtain a motorcycle license is for a person to complete the Motorcycle Operator Safety Training (MOST) course. After successful completion of the course, a person just needs to present the MOST motorcycle license waiver to the driver’s license office and to purchase their new license that shows the motorcycle endorsement.
Call us today to speak with an experienced Denver motorcycle accident attorney.