Request a Consultation
Lawyers meeting

Denver Theft Lawyer

If you are accused of theft in Denver, then you need an experienced attorney. “Theft” is broadly defined under Colorado law and applies to various types of stealing. Our defense lawyers will aggressively fight any theft allegation against you. Contact us online or call 1-800-ATTORNEY for a free consultation today.

Why Choose Our Firm

The process of fighting a theft charge can be long and difficult. You may need help talking to the police once you are arrested, negotiating with prosecutors, or deciding whether to take the stand at trial. We can guide you through the process with our decades of legal experience and skill. Our team has a deep understanding of the criminal justice system, and with us on your side, it can mean the difference between a guilty or not guilty verdict.

What Is Considered Theft in Denver?

Denver Courts consider a person to have committed theft when he or she intended to permanently deprive anything of value of another person (C.R.S. 18-4-401). That means the accused:

  • Knowingly obtained, retained, or controlled the item; and
  • Did so without authorization from the owner or by threat or deception.

However, you can also commit theft under Colorado law even if you don’t take anything. For instance, if you knowingly received stolen property or failed to promptly return the property you were only supposed to hold onto for a certain amount of time, that is theft. Theft laws also classify the unauthorized sale or resale of tickets or passes for ski resorts as theft. Other common types of thefts are:

  • Larceny (theft from a building)
  • Burglary (theft from a home)
  • Robbery (theft from a person)
  • Embezzlement (theft from an employer)
  • False Pretenses (theft by deception)
  • Shoplifting (theft from a business)

Colorado also has several theft laws covering specific illegal activities that will have their own penalties as well, such as stealing trade secrets, sale of devices to shield against theft detection, auto theft, and more.

Denver Penalties and Sentences for Theft

Violating Colorado theft laws can result in the following penalties and sentences, depending on the value of the property taken:

Less than $50

Petty theft punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $500 in fines.

$50 to $300

Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $750 in fines.

$300 to $750

Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and $1,000 in fines.

$750 to $2,000

Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 18 months in prison and $5,000 in fines.

$2,000 to $5,000

Class 6 felony punishable by up to 18 months in prison and $100,000 in fines.

$5,000 to $20,000

Class 5 felony punishable by up to 3 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines.

$20,000 to $100,000

Class 4 felony punishable by up to 6 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.

$100,000 and $1 million

Class 3 felony punishable by up to 12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines.

More than $1 million

Class 2 felony punishable by up to 24 years in prison and up to $1 million in fines.

Two or more felony convictions within four years can increase your sentence and may eliminate your chances for probation or a suspended sentence. On top of the criminal penalties, whoever you stole from may also file a lawsuit to be compensated for their loss.

Contact an Experienced Denver Theft Lawyer Today

If you’ve been arrested on any theft charge in Denver, contact the Denver criminal defense attorneys at Bendinelli Law Firm. Because of our experience and knowledge, we have a successful track record in felony and misdemeanor cases ranging from assault to murder defense. Call today at 1-800-ATTORNEY for your free consultation.